Town of Westville

Franklin County, New York 
    

Point System

If you are convicted of a violation that occurred while your car was moving (e.g., speeding, failing to stop for a stop sign, etc.) points will be assigned to you based on a schedule adopted by the New York State Legislature. If you accumulate three speeding violations or 11 points within an 18-month period, the Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license. If you accumulate 6 or more points within an 18-month period (which could result from just 1 conviction of 21 mph over the speed limit), you will have to pay the New York State driver assessment fee of $100.00 per year for 3 years plus $25.00 for each additional point accumulated. The number of points attributed to various infractions are as follows:

VIOLATION
 POINTS
 

Speeding (mph over posted limit):

1 to 10

11 to 20

21 to 30  

31 to 40                           

More than 40           

                

Reckless Driving

Failing to stop for school bus


Following too closely (tailgating)                                         


Inadequate brakes                                                                                

Inadequate brakes (while driving employer’s vehicle)  

              

Failing to yield right-of-way


Violation of traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign                                   

Railroad crossing violation                                                                      

Improper passing or lane use                                            


Leaving scene of an incident involving property

Damage or injury to an animal                                            


Child safety restraint violation                                                                  

Any other moving violation                                                                    

                                           


3
4
6
8
11

5

5


4

4


2



3
 
3

3

3


3

2